WSibIso

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Modeling

Isotope modeling

       The atmospheric general circulation model (AGCM) ECHAM5 is the fifth generation of an AGCM developed at the Max-Planck-Institute in Hamburg (Germany). It was thoroughly tested under present-day conditions (e.g., Roeckner et al., 2003, 2006) and used for the last Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change assessment (Randall et al., 2007). Regarding the hydrological cycle in the ECHAM5 model, both simulated precipitation amount as well as integrated atmospheric water vapour agree in general well with the observational values over different land surfaces, except for a 10-15% overestimation in the Tropics (Hagemann et al., 2006). 

       For the explicit simulation of HDO and H218O, the ECHAM5 model was enhanced by including a water isotope module in the model’s hydrological cycle (this model version is named ECHAM5-wiso hereafter), following the work of Joussaume et al. (1984), Jouzel et al. (1987), Hoffmann et al. (1998) and Werner et al. (2002). ECHAM5-wiso computes in detail isotopic changes within the entire hydrological cycle, from ocean evaporation through cloud condensation and precipitation (rain- and snowfall) to surface water runoff. First present-day climate control simulations reveal that ECHAM5-wiso results are in good agreement with available observations of water isotopes in precipitation and vapour, as measured at different stations of the Global Network of Isotopes in Precipitation (GNIP, IAEA/WMO, 2006), both on an annual as well as on a seasonal time scale. Due to recent advances in computing power and numerical algorithms, the ECHAM5-wiso model can be run with a very fine spatial grid size of down to 75x75 km on a global scale. For Europe and many other regions, the isotope simulation results clearly benefit from such an increased horizontal and vertical model resolution (Werner et al., 2011).

       To enable a reliable comparison of IGCM modelling results and ground-based as well as satellite measurements of HDO in the atmosphere, we propose for the WSibIso project to run ECHAM5-wiso with very high spatial resolution in a nudged simulation mode for the period 1990-present. In this nudged simulation mode, the model’s state of the atmosphere is constantly relaxed towards the prescribed atmospheric reference state, as defined by the ERA-Interim observational data set (Dee et al., 2011). This ensures that synoptic-scale features within the ECHAM5-wiso simulation follow the observed atmospheric circulation, and the simulated isotopic composition of rainfall for a specific calendar period can be directly compared to the ground-based FTIR measurements or satellite data from the same time period. In addition, the simulation, covering the last two decades, will allow assessing possible changes of Western Siberia’s hydrological cycle and its isotopic composition due to the recent increase in atmospheric greenhouse gases.

       Simulation analyses will focus on the simulated atmospheric HDO signal over Western Siberia region and an in-depth model-data comparison with respect to our scientific objectives in noting that such comparisons will be limited to cloud-free days. Data-Data comparison will focus on the representativeness of HDO at Kourovka for a larger Western Siberia region (FTIR vs. GOSAT or other satellite).

       All proposed ECHAM5-wiso simulations and analyses are computationally very demanding and will be performed on a NEC-SX8 supercomputer, operated by AWI, or supercomputer facilities of the German Climate Computing Centre (DKRZ).

       Water stable isotopes have been recently implemented in the up to date version of the GCM developed at Laboratoire de Météorologie Dynamique, the LMDZ4 model (Hourdin et al., 2006). It is the atmospheric component of the Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL) ocean-land-atmosphere coupled model (Marti et al., 2005) that participated in CMIP3 (Meehl et al. 2007). The complete LMDZ model solves the primitive equations using finite differences on a 3D eulerian grid. In a standard configuration, 19 sigma-pressure layers are used to discretize the vertical axis. They correspond to a resolution of about 300-500m in the planetary boundary layer (first level at 70 m height) and to a resolution of about 2 km at the tropopause. Its dynamical and physical packages have completely changed since the pioneering work of Joussaume  et al. (1984) who implemented water isotopes in an early version of the LMD GCM.

        An interesting particularity of this GCM is the possibility to use stretched grids (Hourdin et al., 2006), allowing studies at both global and regional  scales (e.g. Krinner et al., 1997). The simulations of water stable isotopes by LMDZ-iso have been evaluated  at different time scales, e.g. .for the present-day isotopic spatial and seasonal distribution and for the isotopic variability at time scales ranging from synoptic to inter-annual. This includes a simulation forced by monthly observed sea surface temperatures (SST) from 1979 to 2007, and in order to evaluate the isotopic simulation in a more rigorous way, a simulation over the same period with the large-scale atmospheric dynamics nudged by meteorological reanalyses (Risi et al., 2010). Since a particular effort has been invested in the representation  of the droplet reevaporation in the model (Bony et al., 2008), a particular attention was given on evaluating the equilibrium between droplets and water vapor using simultaneous vapor and  precipitation data available at some stations (Risi et al., 2010). These authors also pay a lot of attention to evaluating the d-excess, which is sensitive to kinetic fractionation notably during rain reevaporation. Finally, they evaluated the isotopic distribution for two past climates for which isotopic data are available: Last Glacial Maximum (21 000 years ago, 21 ka) and Mid-Holocene (6 ka).

       In WSibIso, we will use LMDZ-iso with a zoom centred around Western Siberia in a nudged mode for present-day conditions. The focus will be on the comparison with surface data (water vapour and precipitation) and on vertical distributions as compared with satellite derived profiles. One further specificity of LMDz-iso is its ability to track the origin of air masses which is important for interpreting isotopic distributions in terms of climatic parameters. This isotopic model will also run under warmer climatic conditions.

WSibIso

  • Увеличить размер
  • Размер по умолчанию
  • Уменьшить размер
Главная Изотопное моделирование

Изотопное моделирование

       Модель общей циркуляции атмосферы ECHAM5 представляет собой 5-ое поколение МОЦА разработанных в Институте Макса Планка в Гамбурге (Германия). Она была тщательно протестирована в современных условиях (см. например Roeckner et al., 2003, 2006) и использована в последних оценках МГЭИК (Randall et al., 2007). Что касается гидрологического цикла в ECHAM5, и модельные количество осадков и полное содержание водяного пара в атмосфере в целом совпадают с наблюдаемыми величинами за исключением 10-15% расхождения в тропиках (Hagemann et al., 2006).

       Для явного моделирования содержания молекул HDO и H218O, модель ECHAM5 была расширена модулем изотопного состава воды в модели гидрологического цикла (данная версия модели называется здесь и далее ECHAM5-wiso) в соответствии с работами Joussaume et al. (1984), Jouzel et al. (1987), Hoffmann et al. (1998) и Werner et al.(2002). Модель ECHAM5-wiso вычисляет детальные изменения изотопного состава в течение всего гидрологического цикла, от испарения из океанов через конденсацию облаков и осадки (дождь и снег) до поверхностного стока вод. Первые современные запуски моделирования выявили, что результаты моделирования с помощью ECHAM-wiso находятся в хорошем согласии с доступными измерениями изотопного состава воды в осадках и водяном паре, которые были выполнены в сети станций GNIP (МАГАТЭ/ВМО, 2006), как на годичном так и сезонном временном масштабе. Благодаря последним достижениям, как в росте вычислительных возможностей, так и в развитии вычислительных алгоритмов, модель ECHAM5-wiso может работать на достаточно мелкой сетке, вплоть до 75×75 км, с полным глобальным покрытием.

      Чтобы обеспечить надежное сравнение результатов моделирования с помощью МОЦА и наземных и спутниковых измерений HDO в атмосфере, предлагается в данном проекте (WsibIso) выполнить моделирование моделью ECHAM5-wiso с очень высоким пространственным разрешением в режиме длительного моделирования для периода с 1990 года по настоящее время. В данном режиме моделирования, модельное состояние атмосферы постоянно релаксирует в направлении заранее определенных опорных состояний атмосферы, определенных в экспериментальном наборе состояний (ERA-Interim) (Dee et al., 2011). Это позволяет быть уверенным, что особенности синоптического масштаба в рамках ECHAM5-wiso соответствуют наблюдаемой атмосферной циркуляции, а также модельный изотопический состав в выпадении осадков в заданный календарный период может быть непосредственно сравнен с измерениями наземных и спутниковых спектрометров за тот же период. В дополнение, моделирование за последние 20 лет позволит обнаружить возможные изменения в гидрологическом цикле и изотопном составе в Западной Сибири произошедшие вследствие повышения концентрации парниковых газов в атмосфере.

       Модельный анализ будет нацелен на моделирование содержания HDO в атмосфере над Западной Сибирью и сравнительный анализ модельных и измеренных данных с учетом того, что данные будут ограничены безоблачными условиями в атмосфере. Сравнение данных будет нацелено на выявление представительности данных, полученных в УАФС, для использования их для всего региона Западной Сибири (наземный фурье-спектрометр против данных GOSAT или другого спутника).

       Все предложенные вычисления на основе ECHAM5-wiso и сравнение данных являются очень затратными с точки зрения вычислительных ресурсов и будут выполнены на суперкомпьютере NEC-SX8, обслуживаемом персоналом AWI в суперкомпьютерном центре Германского Климатического Вычислительного Центра (DKRZ).

       Стабильные изотопомеры воды были недавно учтены в последней версии МОЦА LMDZ4, разработанной в Лаборатории Метеорологической Динамики (LMD) (Hourdin et al., 2006). Это атмосферный компонент Института Пьера Симона Лапласа (IPSL) (Marti et al., 2005) более общей модели поверхности-океана-атмосферы CMIP3 (Meehl et al., 2007). Полная модель LMDZ решает уравнения в конечных разностях на трехмерной сетке Эйлера. В стандартной конфигурации для дискретизации вертикальной оси используется 19 уровней давления, которые соответствуют 70 м в пограничном слое и около 2 км в тропопаузе. Динамическое и физическое содержание данной модели было полностью переработано с тех пор как Joussaume et al. (1984) впервые встроили изотопные модели в ранние версии МОЦА LMD.

       Интересной особенностью этой МОЦА является возможность растяжения сеток (Hourdin et al., 2006), позволяющая проводить исследования, как на глобальном, так и на региональном масштабе. Возможности моделирования изотопического состава в LMDZ-iso были оценены на различных временных масштабах, для современных изотопических пространственных и сезонных распределений и для изменчивости изотопного состава на временных масштабах от синоптических до многолетних. Эти симуляции включали в себя учет наблюдаемых месячных температур поверхности моря с 1979 года по 2007 год, а для того, чтобы оценить изотопическое моделирование более строгим образом, моделирование было сопоставлено с ретроспективным метеорологическим анализом (Risi et al., 2010). Поскольку определенные усилия были вложены в представление в модели процесса повторного испарения капли (Bony et al., 2008), определенной внимание было уделено оценке равновесия между каплей и водяным паром с использованием данных некоторых станций по водяному пару и осадкам (Risi et al., 2010). Данные авторы также уделили внимание оценке избыточного дейтерия, содержание которого чувствительно к кинетическому фракционированию особенно при повторном испарении дождя. Наконец, авторы оценили изотопические распределения для двух предшествующих климатических эпох для которых доступны изотопические данные: последнего максимума оледенения (21000 лет назад) и в среднем Голоцене (6000 лет назад).

       В данном проекте предполагается использовать модель LMDZ-iso для детального моделирования современных условий в регионе Западной Сибири. Усилия будут сосредоточены на сравнении модельных и измеренных поверхностных данных (водяной пар и осадки) и вертикальных распределений как модельных, так и восстановленных по спутниковым данным. Одной из особенностей LMDZ-iso является возможность отследить происхождение воздушных масс, что важно для интерпретации изотопических распределений в терминах климатических параметров. Данная изотопическая модель будет также использована для моделирования циркуляции в более теплых климатических условиях.